Je t’aime Bel Ami!

I don’t consider myself a Robert Pattinson (RP) fan. I’ve never watched any of the Twilight movies. I’d much rather spend my time learning about world events than finding out his date of birth or what he likes to do in his spare time.

But when I came across this recent poster (See image below) of RP promoting his latest movie, something about it intrigued me. Was it the perfectly coiffed hair? Or the midnight blue suit with matching cravat? Or the intense expression that seemed to suggest that he was thinking through a mathematical problem real hard? Whatever it was, it intrigued me enough to locate a copy of Bel Ami by Guy De Maupassant (Thank you iBooks for the free copy – you rock!) and begin reading it!

Written in 1885, and possibly set in Paris around the same period, Bel Ami is a tale chronicling how Georges Duroy (no doubt played by RP in the movie), a lowly journalist at La Vie Francaise rose to power by seducing and manipulating a bevy of upper class Parisian ladies.

I won’t go into detail about what the novel is about (just in case some of you are thinking of catching the movie) but might focus a little attention on what I really thought of the story. I was half expecting one of those romantic, Mills and Boons type tale with this- what really surprised me was how much it was not!

Bel Ami has been written in a very light hearted fashion, which makes for an easy read and you do get drawn into the characters right from the start! I love how the story is set in Paris – you do get a little glimpse of privileged Parisian life and how it might have been like back then, which was quite appealing to the little Francophile in me! This was such an entertaining read that I finished the novel in two days!

I’m not too sure if I’ll catch the movie or the DVD (again, not a big RP fan). But I might search for more novels by Guy De Maupassant and indulge in a little fictional fantasy again!

20120203-225151.jpg
Image from the official Bel Ami movie site

Leave a Reply

