Of cake and Tommy Page

“You are not going to blog about this, are you?” A tiny voice shot out from the kitchen.

I turned my attention away from Bugs who seemed content for the moment playing with her new toy and saw The Dude staring dejectedly at the cake pan that had just came out of the oven.

“What’s the matter?” I enquired gently, conscious of the fragile situation I was suddenly in.

“The raspberry bakewell cake…its not how I expected it to be….” The voice responded in a low tone, “The edges and the base are burnt.”

“But it smelt absolutely heavenly as it was baking in the oven!” I reasoned, ” And you followed the recipe exactly, I suppose?”

“To the letter.” came the firm reply, “I don’t understand what’s wrong, this is my second shot at it and still….” The voice trailed off.

“Perhaps it’s the recipe?” I conjectured a logical explanation for the cause of The Dude’s misery. “It could even be the humidity in the air that affected the baking. You know like how macarons are so notoriously difficult to make?”

The Dude did not respond. Instead, he heaved a huge sigh, picked up the cake pan and began making his way to the dustbin.

“No don’t throw it away!” I exclaimed, rushing as quickly as I could to snatch the cake pan out of his hands, “I’ll see what I can salvage and we can have a taste!”

I began cutting away the burnt bits from the warm cake. A song popped into my head and I started singing it as I went on with my task:

Life is full of lots of ups and downs
And the distance feels further when you’re headed for the ground
And there’s nothing more painful than to let your feelings take you down…

“Oh my goodness, is that a Tommy Page song you are humming? It’s been years since I’ve heard that song, what is it called?” The Dude broke his silence.

” ‘Shoulder to cry on‘, ” I grinned, “We learnt this in music class as kids. Bizarre I know, but it’s a nice song.”

“I like the lyrics, they are quite meaningful. My favourite part is the bridge…” He paused and began breaking into song (and hand actions):

Side by side,
With you till the end
I’ll always be the one to firmly hold your hand
No matter what it’s said or done
Our love will always continue on

We began belting out the famous chorus of the song in unison:

Everyone needs a shoulder to cry on
Everyone needs a friend to rely on
When the whole world’s gone
You won’t be alone cause I’ll be there
I’ll be your shoulder to cry on
I’ll be there
I’ll be a friend to rely on

When the whole world’s gone
You’ll always have my shoulder to cry on

At the end of our impromptu karaoke session, I could see that The Dude’s spirits had been lifted and all was almost back to normal. Till it came time for the dreaded taste test.

“Seriously, this cake tastes fantastic! I love how the buttery taste and fruity, tangy flavours from the raspberries come together! The almond meal makes it so crumbly and moreish- I think you did well here!” I complimented The Dude for his effort.

“So it’s true what they say,” replied The Dude with a smile on his face, “That the proof of the pudding is in the eating after all!”

20120220-230322.jpg

Leave a Reply

