Gold fever

Ah the Oscars! We are at that time of the year again – when our favourite movie stars (and everyone else in the industry) gear themselves up for a special date with a certain gold statue.

Some of us love it for the glamour. Others love it for the celebrities. Quite a few of us love it for the fashion. Whatever it is you love about the Oscars, it always remains a popular conversation topic before and after the event!

With Oscar fever still fresh in the air, I thought I’ll take the opportunity to share my top six favourite best picture films from the long list of winners throughout the years!

In no particular order of preference…..

1. The Sound of Music

20120227-151502.jpg
Image from Filmsite

I love Julie Andrews! I loved her in Mary Poppins and even more in this iconic film! And who hasn’t heard and/or love the songs that came out of this movie! Just a few of my favourite things, people!

2. Ben-Hur

20120227-152034.jpg
Image from Filmsite

2 words for you -Charlton Heston. One of the greatest actors of our time- I even had a poster of the guy starring in “The Planet of The Apes” on my dorm room wall.

Another two words – chariot race. The most incredible thing i remember seeing as a kid. My eyes were completely glued to the telly watching Ben-Hur go round after round after round in the stadium against Messala.

3. West Side Story

20120227-152954.jpg
Image from listal

Boy meets girl. Boy and girl fall in love but do not end up together. Like Romeo and Juliet, its filled with romance, humour and tragedy all in one go – lots to love from my perspective!

There is also a personal reason behind why it’s one of my favourites- I acted in a school play production of it many years ago! No I did not play Maria – that role went to someone who knew “how to solve a problem like Maria”. I still hum some of the classic tunes from this movie from time to time.

4. Titanic

20120227-154002.jpg
Image from Wikipedia

Ok I’ll admit it – I was one of those people who went to the cinema and watched it more than once. Three times to be exact. Perhaps it was the haunting theme song. Or Leo’s boyish good looks. Or the beautiful love story set against the backdrop of one of the 20th century’s greatest tragedies. Whatever it was, it was good enough for me to add it to my list!

5. Kramer v.s. Kramer

20120227-205532.jpg
Image from Wikipedia

There were many touching moments in this excellent film about divorce. For some reason the scene I always remember is the one where Dustin Hoffman’s character tries to make breakfast for his son for the first time after his wife (played by Meryl Streep) walks out on him and ends up feeling very frustrated and making a whole mess of things. It made me really sympathise with the character -needing to cope in a new situation on an empty stomach is not a happy moment!

6. The Departed

20120227-204240.jpg
Image from IMDB

It was a toss up between this and “Gladiator” but I gave this more weight as it’s The Dude’s favourite film of recent times (I think the one that ranks even more highly in his books is “The Godfather”). Love the plot and its many twist and turns. Oh, plus Leo is in it as well.

There you have it! That’s my list of favourite Oscar winning films to date! Did I name one (or some) that you like as well? I am pretty sure I’ve left out a few of your favourites – let me know which ones I’ve missed out!

Leave a Reply

