Ribbit!

Happy leap day everyone! To all the leapers and leaplings out there – a BIG happy birthday to you! I hope you are planning something special to do today -after all February 29 only swings by once every four years!

I thought I’ll get a leap start on my post today and share with you something fun and easy to do that takes literally a few minutes! It might even get you addicted to create your own version!

So here’s what we are going to do today – I will be showing you step-by-step how to doodle a cartoon frog! This little amphibian creation was borne out of endless hours of doodling on my textbooks and homework when I was in school! It’s probably the best thing I can doodle (so don’t get your hopes too high – I’m no Jim Davis) and seemed appropriate to celebrate this special day!

Get your pen and paper ready and here we go!

We start off first by drawing the eyes. The horizontal line through the circles gives the cartoon a deadpan look. Not sure why but I like to draw my cartoons that way.

20120229-103503.jpg

Next add a somewhat incomplete triangle for the mouth.

20120229-103556.jpg

Draw the arms and hands coming out from either side below the mouth. You can add more fingers on the hand if you wish – again it’s a habit of mine to draw only three.

20120229-103915.jpg

Next draw two curves on either side (see picture below) for the hind legs.

20120229-104109.jpg

Finish off the feet with a couple more curves and lines.

20120229-104247.jpg

Voila! There you have it! Your very own cartoon frog! I hope the instructions were not too confusing, it was a little difficult to describe in words, hopefully the pictures helped!

But wait…..there’s more! We’ve just completed drawing a male frog. What if we wanted a female frog? Simple! Nothing that a little makeup can’t fix! Add some eyelashes and a pair of lips and there you have it- a female version of our original frog!

20120229-104938.jpg

Here’s how the two frogs look side by side. I’ve drawn a little card for Riberio (that’s the male frog) to hold and added some lipstick on Riberta (yeap the female frog) to complete her look!

20120229-105342.jpg

Riberta’s hands were looking a little empty so I added a bunch of flowers. Now it looks like they had just exchanged gifts! Flowers for Riberta and a love note for Riberio – how sweet!

20120229-105543.jpg

And all done while they were floating on their lily pads !

20120229-105632.jpg

I hope you had as much fun reading this as I did drawing it! Be sure to show me your creations if you do have a go at doodling it! Feel free to comment as well on my drawings! Have a fantastic leap day from all of us here! *Ribbit* *Ribbit*

Leave a Reply

