Unfinished business

Do you have a favourite fruit? I am sure you do! For me, pears are my absolute favourite go to snack in autumn! They are green (favourite colour), sweet, healthy and especially affordable during the season – too much to love really!

So it seems pretty appropriate that I finished crafting this latest project of mine in autumn – a giant crochet amigurumi pear!

20120312-225121.jpg

Perrier (name of giant pear) did take quite a while to complete. I had started this project a year ago, intending for it to be a toy for Bugs but had left it on the back burner when Bugs arrived. I decided to pick it up again after chancing upon it recently while clearing out the cupboard.

The project itself wasn’t complicated- just lots of crochet. It took me a few weeks to complete half of the pear as I’m not that proficient in crochet. Give me knitting any day, I still say!

20120312-230153.jpg

Here’s how the pear looked before I stuffed it with toy stuffing….

20120312-230602.jpg

And here’s how it looked with stuffing….

20120312-230714.jpg

There were times in the wee hours of the night while working on this that it did feel like I was crocheting for eternity! Once the eyes and smile were embroidered on and I saw the pear smiling back at me, I started to feel happy! Mainly because I knew the end of the project was nearing.

20120312-231134.jpg

After finishing the pear body, all that was left to do were the little stem and leaf. That meant more crochet (ack!) ! Luckily the pattern instructions were clear and simple and I managed to finish them and sew them on in one sitting. And hooray! Perrier the giant pear was finally complete!

20120312-231555.jpg

In case you are wondering how big Perrier is , I’ve placed a regular pear right next to him in the photo below for comparison!

20120312-231910.jpg

Perrier may not be suitable for consumption but he’s just ripe for cuddling! Hopefully Perrier will inspire Bugs to love pears as much as I do as she grows up!

20120312-232204.jpg

2 thoughts on “Unfinished business

  1. Pingback: Milton rocks! « A happy moment a day- my project 365

Leave a Reply

