Blast from the past

It’s true what they say – about fashion never going out of fashion. Especially in the world of knitting I think!

I picked up this book – Retro Knits: Cool Vintage Patterns for Men, Women, and Children from the 1900s through the 1970s by Kari Cornell and Jean Lampe, on a whim at a recent trip to the library, mainly because I was curious as to what vintage knitting patterns and the clothes that people used to hand knit were like.

20120427-225805.jpg

Surprisingly, most of them would not look out of place in our modern times! Check out this sweet looking bolero from the 1950s….

20120427-230441.jpg

This ever practical looking cardigan that can be paired with just about every outfit….

20120427-230538.jpg

And this set of him and her matching sweaters which might motivate some lovebirds to get their needles clicking!

20120427-230910.jpg

I was pretty inspired after flipping through the book and decided to visit the local op shop to see if there were any vintage knitting stuff I could pick up for a bargain.

20120427-231110.jpg

Visiting the shop always makes me feel like I’m about to embark on a treasure hunt. There’s always something that might catch your fancy if you look hard enough!

20120427-231530.jpg

Fortunately, I didn’t have to spend that much time searching high and low for all the knitting stuff was conveniently located in the centre of the store!

20120427-231708.jpg

The knitting patterns were going for a dollar a book. At that price, who can resist picking up only one book? Alright you got me there – it’s seven to be exact!

20120427-232135.jpg

I even managed to find this beautiful hand knitted top in mint condition for Bugs going for less than a fiver – a real steal I say, especially if you take a close look at the detailing on it! Someone must have spend heaps of time and effort making this!

20120427-232418.jpg

20120427-232430.jpg

I’m pretty excited about my vintage finds today! Hopefully I can find the time to try out one of the patterns in the near future!

It’s finally Friday everyone! Have a great day as always!

Leave a Reply

