Adventures at the square

I was feeling a bit adventurous today and decided to head to Federation Square with Bugs to search for a play area that I was told where kids could roam free.

20120704-213658.jpg

It was quite exciting as it was the very first time I’d actually visited Federation Square! All I’d known about it before this visit was that it was a funky, artsy space with some cool eateries. So this visit was a real eye opener for me!

20120704-214041.jpg

When we entered the Square, we were confronted by a pile of giant cardboard pebbles. Turns out there was a kids activity called “Ants” going on right in the middle of the square! The kids had to act like ants and transport the “crumbs” (that’s the pebbles) to a secret location to store away for the winter. It must have been lots of fun judging by how enthusiastic the kids were in transporting the crumbs!

20120704-214408.jpg

20120704-214426.jpg

When we finally found our way to the play area, we were greeted by this massive wall of graffiti at the entrance!

20120704-214535.jpg

I thought it was such a cool idea that the Square allowed anyone to draw or write on the wall! Bugs was really taken by the wall so I decided to help her leave a little mark by using one of the pens the Square had supplied! Can you spot what I’ve drawn on the wall in the photo below?

20120704-214842.jpg

The play area was such a fun space I’ll have to share about it in another post – probably when we visit it again I think!

I’ll end off today with a wise quote a little person had left behind on that graffiti wall!

You can’t buy happiness but you can buy cupcakes, and that is kind of the same thing!</

20120704-215224.jpg

Leave a Reply

