A brief distraction

Ahhhh Crochet! How I yearn to master the skill! Whenever I spot a pretty little pattern or two involving crochet, my heart skips a beat!

A pretty little pattern like these cute decorative crocheted circles that I found while flipping through a craft book recently!

20120721-230826.jpg

They looked like such a quick project that I just had to try making them. So the knitting took a backseat for a few days while I began my little crochet journey.

The first few attempts at making the circles weren’t stellar. I struggled tremendously with reading the pattern chart. Finally after two failed attempts, I decided that I needed some help. From the wise old master Google.

20120721-231908.jpg

Armed with a little more knowledge, I gave the pattern another go. The end product was starting to look a bit more decent! It made me feel confident enough to try out the leaf pattern in the book as well!

20120721-232113.jpg

But it did not end there. I was already hooked! And bent on making the prettiest crochet circle. So this little brown one was my next creation….

20120721-232708.jpg

Followed by this tiny pink one which I’d improvised (gasp!) on a recent car ride! I like how it looks like a little cherry blossom, think there’s still a bit more work to make it more presentable.

20120721-232824.jpg

I was really encouraged by the little pink flower and continued improvising and made this little red one! A silky white button from an old shirt and a green crochet leaf completes the piece!

20120721-232911.jpg

It looked good enough to be a brooch but I thought it would be best as a hair clip for Bugs! So a few squeezes of the hot glue gun later, Bugs’s brand new hair accessory was born!

20120721-233526.jpg

The fingers are busy with the knitting now but oh boy do they itch to have a go at another crochet project! Hopefully it’ll happen soon!

20120721-234007.jpg

Leave a Reply

