Quiet reflections

It’s late at night now and the house is asleep. I’ve had some time to sneak out and indulge in a bit of knitting – always a nice, quiet way to wind down from the day.

20120909-004225.jpg

There was also a little time spent thinking back at how Bugs has changed in the past year and a half. Somehow whenever Bugs reaches a major milestone in her life, I can’t help but think back to the days when she was just a very tiny little baby and recount how she’s grown since then. And feel a little bittersweet in the event.

I remember the early days when Bugs was very little wishing that the days would pass quickly. Especially after an all nighter or when you just really crave for some brief respite from the constant child rearing. In hindsight, those were some truly special times.

Don’t get me wrong – I don’t miss the tough bits or that zombified feeling that you get after having only a precious few minutes of sleep on the couch at any chance you can get (for the record, I still feel like a zombie whenever a tiny tooth erupts).

Rather, it’s all those very first moments (first smile/ laugh/burp) and the feeling knowing that all this little person wants and cares about in the whole wide world right now is you (and only you) that I think were some of the things that made those times very special.

It’s not like things are worse now -The magic has not faded and I count my blessings that I get to experience it every day!

Leave a Reply

